Aftermath

 

Image of smokey sunrise.

Early sunrise through the smoke

The hills are burning in the valley of Jericho
the bones of the deer are mixed with ash
a carpet of silver haunting the hilltops
wind blows across barren lava flows
exposing a cycle of ancient ruin
which has come round at last
And a seed of the first blade of grass
sleeps
in
the
dust
waiting for the rain to come.

 

The dragon is still churning through the smoldering wasteland in the east.

25,118 acres have burned and today it is 98% contained.

One dog is in the ground and the other is hiding in the shadows under my desk. The boxes with my precious, irreplaceable things are stacked  unpacked on the porch. I should feel very thankful that I still have a porch to come back to. I think of the people who lost their homes counted and uncounted in the final tally. But in the end  I am exhausted. I am in denial about the loss of Voice and I am not taking it very well.

But oblivious to my sorrow, paradise is raging all around me. The euphorbias in the Garden of Unearthly Delights are blooming. Some have actually never bloomed before.

Image of euphorbias in bloom.

Euphorbias in bloom.

The apples are hanging like clusters of grapes on the branches of the apple trees.

Apples on the tree

Red Delicious apples on the tree.

The raven pair are feeding on the crab apples in the orchard and the local herd of deer have come down to nibble at the chicken food again . All is well at PsiKeep but the caretaker.

Posted on August 22, 2015, in Caretaking the Forest, Dragons, Psi Keep Center for the Arts, Ravens, Uncategorized, Unforeseen Events, Wildfires and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Christalene… I just cried with you darling.. I am so sorry Voice was lost to this horrible event. Am very proud of you keeping it together and happy that you had some souls come to your rescue.. I can not imagine going through that with my herd, or my animals. The smoke is all around us, but we are not in the danger you were. Rest now my friend. Peace be with you..

    Like

  2. Fire in my neck of the woods today. Out Adobe Creek… a little past Hyland Springs is what I am hearing. Prayers for the animals.

    Like

  3. I really like your poem particularly the lines “exposing a cycle of ancient ruin
    which has come round at last.

    Like

Leave a Reply

robertscribbler

Scribbling for environmental, social and economic justice

Maria Wind Talker

My Journey back to Self

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

swankaid

Inspiring Change in Assistive Design with Inclusive Accessibility for All

beeguardianmaine

share our passion for Honeybees

power animals talking

Inspirational books of animal messages

PsiKeep Venture

Creating an art center in the wilderness

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft For The 21st Century"

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Dragon Builder

Building Dragons at the PsiKeep Center for the Arts

Becoming is Superior to Being

I come closest to succeeding by sharing.

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Tara Hunt

senior digital marketing professional. researcher. author. speaker.

~*LunaSea*~

a life reading words

pavement stories

architecture, city-scapes & street life with a lo-fi touch

Just Another Impurity

Scribbles from a broken mind.

GrannyMoon's Morning Feast

GoddessSchool.com ~ Healing Arts and Pagan Studies

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

