More On The Dragon Among Us – Part V

August 6 Day 9

Note: Please note that this entry of the past three days was under construction when the Jerusalem Fire broke out. I have entered them  now to keep the events in this story in chronological order.

The satellite fire map indicates  hot spots in the south The fire has moved to the south which is now closer to me if the winds blow back toward the north.

Satellite fire map

Satellite fire map

I have no startling images to share. I am too close to the belly of the beast and the fire is too spread out. There is nothing but smoke in the sky in the south east.

The fire is now as large as San Francisco.

Overlay of the Rocky fire and San Francisco as comparison

Overlay of the Rocky fire and San Francisco as comparison

Jon Stewart is leaving the Daily Show and all day NPR has been playing interviews of Jon Stewart. It is an end of another era.

I am  keeping a close eye on the south where I am unable to see anything. The hot spots are still too far away. I think I will go down and open up an abysses on one of the goats. I am too exhausted to cut back more brush. Most of it has been cut away but this place has a lot of trees. There is not much more I can do but be vigilant and ready to move out if need be.

 August 7 Day 10

It is Friday and I made a trip to the county seat to pay on the property taxes. The car held up all the way which is encouraging. When I returned the smoke was thick in the air once again but the fire is south by east and the dragon is beginning to lay down.

I gave the older buck, Jonas, another bath and scrubbed away more dead skin and hair. He is looking a lot better. The new hair is growing back. And the wounds where the other bucks had attacked him are almost healed.

Image of an older San Clemente Buck

Older San Clemente possible diet deficiency.

I have been giving him zinc and coconut oil in his feed and I am waiting for the supplements to arrive by UPS. But they will not come out here until Monday due to the fire. The little buckling with the abysses is also improving. The wound is drying up and have been giving him 2 cc of penicillin a day.

The day ended in that darkness that comes without the power.

I was watering the goats when the water stopped flowing. First I looked for kinks in the hose. None. I ran around looking to see if I left a hose bib on. There were no hose bibs draining out the water. Panic. Is my well pumping dry? The gauge says zero. No flow; no pressure Then I noticed that the light in the shop was out. I went inside and sure enough I had no power. As it turned out there was another fire in Sigler Canyon and a transformer blew up. One rumor had it that the transformer was hit with retardant. That night I read by headlamp until the power came on around 10:00p.m. I shut down the place hit the bed.

August 8 Day 11

I spent the day cleaning the house and unpacking the stuff I had grabbed to evacuate. Most of the space in the car had been taken up with a cage for the chickens, two carry cages for the cats and room of for the dogs. I had filled the rest of the space with things I thought were important. The hard drives and the computers made a lot of sense. The bag with the boots was probably practical as was the cash. The icons on the altar were for comfort. But the raven feathers? What was I thinking? Maybe they were to tie me to the earth. Soul food.

I use to have this all down. In Topanga I evacuated a number of times. I knew exactly what to grab after the animals were packed in the car. It was always the latest art project and irreplaceable things. But this time the car was too small and I am in between art projects. So I was stumped. This experience has taught me that I need to better organize my possessions and get focused on an art project.

Image of the satellite map of the Rocky fire.

Satellite map of the Rocky fire.

At the end of the day I checked the satellite map again and noticed same seven little circles of hot spots in the south. Seven yellow dots may make a big difference on how this day plays out.

 

Posted on August 16, 2015, in Caretaking the Forest, Dragons, Psi Keep Center for the Arts, San Clemente Goats, Uncategorized, Unforeseen Events, Wildfires and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

robertscribbler

Scribbling for environmental, social and economic justice

Maria Wind Talker

My Journey back to Self

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

swankaid

Inspiring Change in Assistive Design with Inclusive Accessibility for All

beeguardianmaine

share our passion for Honeybees

power animals talking

Inspirational books of animal messages

PsiKeep Venture

Creating an art center in the wilderness

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft For The 21st Century"

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Dragon Builder

Building Dragons at the PsiKeep Center for the Arts

Becoming is Superior to Being

I come closest to succeeding by sharing.

Bright, shiny objects!

Seemingly random 'thinks' that catch my eye...

Tara Hunt

senior digital marketing professional. researcher. author. speaker.

~*LunaSea*~

a life reading words

pavement stories

architecture, city-scapes & street life with a lo-fi touch

Just Another Impurity

Scribbles from a broken mind.

GrannyMoon's Morning Feast

GoddessSchool.com ~ Healing Arts and Pagan Studies

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

