Dragon Multiplying: The Jerusalem Fire

August 9th, 2015

A day of Yurga begins like any other day but on the day come the ending and the re-beginning of the world.

The Rocky fire had burned 69,636 acres and was 70% contained.

It was a clear day out here. I decided to work on some of the rune circles I am building to put on the side of the house and the out buildings.

Image of rune circles.

Working on rune circles for the house and out buildings.

I could hear the helicopters flying overhead and heady equipment still coming down the road above me. I did not think very much about that. Funny how we can get use to almost everything including the sounds of a distant battle being waged.

But the call I got from my neighbor changed everything. He called to say there was a fire down in the canyon below the drop off at the east end of the valley. I went out on the porch to look and saw a tiny wisp of smoke in the east.

Image of the first wisp of smoke.

The first wisp of smoke.

Within ten minutes the smoke had turned into this.

Image of the fire ten minutes later.

Ten minutes later.

And within less than an hour into this.

The Jerusalem fire an hour later.

The Jerusalem fire an hour later.

This was a monster roiling out of the canyon.

Image of the Jerusalem fire out of control.

The Jerusalem fire out of control.

Once again I started packing. I called the chickens into the kennel with some food and caught them one by one, stuffing them into the cage in the back of the car. I caught Little Hitler, the cat and got her into a carryall. I grabbed the same stuff: sketches, the book project, hard drives and computers, the altar icons. I even re-packed the raven feathers.

I kept calling for help to transport the goats. But no one was responding. The fire was sweeping up the slope of the hills at the east end of the valley about two miles away. At dusk they came to tell me to get out. I told the sheriff I was packed and ready to go but waiting for help with the goats. It was getting dark and no one was coming.

Finally I grabbed Jonas, the older buck, and tethered him to the side mirror of the car. I managed to grab one of the kids and threw her on top of the dogs in the car. I turned the other goats free and set off up the driveway. Some of the goats ran after me for a short way but then turned back. Slowly I made my way up the driveway leading Jonas while the kid and dogs were scrambling across my belongings in the back of the car.

Suddenly I could see Jonas was not following behind. I stopped the car afraid he was collapsing. But what I discovered was worse. He had caught his horn in the wheel well. I got out and tried to get the tip of his horn free. But the curve of his horn was just the right shape and size of that space for the wheel.

Image of goat horn.

Curve of Jonas’s horn.

At last I was able to work the tip of his horn free and we set off once again with the fire raging at our backs.

I got to the top of the drive way just as help arrived.

To be continued…

Posted on August 16, 2015, in Caretaking the Forest, Dragons, Psi Keep Center for the Arts, San Clemente Goats, Unforeseen Events, Wildfires and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

robertscribbler

Scribbling for environmental, social and economic justice

Maria Wind Talker

My Journey back to Self

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

swankaid

Inspiring Change in Assistive Design with Inclusive Accessibility for All

beeguardianmaine

share our passion for Honeybees

power animals talking

Inspirational books of animal messages

PsiKeep Venture

Creating an art center in the wilderness

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft For The 21st Century"

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Dragon Builder

Building Dragons at the PsiKeep Center for the Arts

Becoming is Superior to Being

I come closest to succeeding by sharing.

Bright, shiny objects!

Seemingly random 'thinks' that catch my eye...

Tara Hunt

senior digital marketing professional. researcher. author. speaker.

~*LunaSea*~

a life reading words

pavement stories

architecture, city-scapes & street life with a lo-fi touch

Just Another Impurity

Scribbles from a broken mind.

GrannyMoon's Morning Feast

GoddessSchool.com ~ Healing Arts and Pagan Studies

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

