Who Says There Are No Dragons – Part III

Image of the wild fire

Image at the end of day.

August 2: Day 5

The fire has spread to 54,000 acres and is 5% contained which means it is still totally out of control. The latest report from Cal Fire says that the estimated containment is August 10.

Map of the Rock Fire.

Map of the Rock Fire taken at 7:00a.m. August 2, 2015.

Today the wind is blowing out of the south-west and to the north-east. This is good for me but the fire advancing toward Hwy 20 and Hwy 16. All the residents in the north-east end of the county are in great trouble. I also think of the horrendous suffering that must be taking place for all the wildlife trapped in this fire.

I pray to the Goddess for mercy for all living things in front of the fire and for the homes of the people who are in its path.

Things are getting tedious out here. I am constantly on the alert. I had to unpack the car because I have to bring hay to the goats twice a day. The boxes are stacked around the house in case I have to quickly load them back into the car.

I have to ask myself why am I staying here with the imminent threat of fire. Around me most everyone has left. They return only to feed their animals. I find this totally abhorrent. If it is too dangerous to stay why leave your animals? What do you think is going to happen if the fire reaches them? So I stay because it is more comfortable here than at a hotel. I stay because I have no place to put the animals. The goats are taken care of. They have been evacuated. But the 8 chickens, 2 cats and 2 dogs and one old San Clemente buck will fill my car. I stay because this is home and I want to protect it as long as I can. I know that if the fire is coming I will have to get out of here. With all these trees I cannot hope to save this place at the end. But I will stay as long as I safely can.

Meanwhile little is getting done. Most of the day is spent driving out to feed the goats where they are evacuated. The car is holding together but I have to fill it with coolant before I leave each time or it will overheat. Sometimes I can catch a little sleep but mostly I am on the edge ready to make the call to abandon this place.

Image of goats evacuated from the fire.

Evacuated SCI goats.

PG&E has come by and sprayed all the power poles with red fire-retardant.

Image of fire retardant on power poles

Fire-retardant sprayed on road and around the power poles.

The fire department put up a sign that says Road Closed To Thru Traffic. Of course this road does not go thru so they must have borrowed the sign from some other road. I was stopped once by one of the firemen at the road sign. I had to show him my electric bill with the street address on it. After that they recognized me enough to wave me through.

Image of a casual road closure.

A casual road closure.

The first image in this post was taken from the driveway this evening on August 2, 2015. See you all tomorrow.

Posted on August 3, 2015, in Caretaking the Forest, Dragons, Psi Keep Center for the Arts, San Clemente Goats, Uncategorized, Unforeseen Events, Wildfires and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

robertscribbler

Scribbling for environmental, social and economic justice

Maria Wind Talker

My Journey back to Self

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

swankaid

Inspiring Change in Assistive Design with Inclusive Accessibility for All

beeguardianmaine

share our passion for Honeybees

power animals talking

Inspirational books of animal messages

PsiKeep Venture

Creating an art center in the wilderness

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft For The 21st Century"

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Dragon Builder

Building Dragons at the PsiKeep Center for the Arts

Becoming is Superior to Being

I come closest to succeeding by sharing.

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Tara Hunt

senior digital marketing professional. researcher. author. speaker.

~*LunaSea*~

a life reading words

pavement stories

architecture, city-scapes & street life with a lo-fi touch

Just Another Impurity

Scribbles from a broken mind.

GrannyMoon's Morning Feast

GoddessSchool.com ~ Healing Arts and Pagan Studies

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

