Chicken Attack

Yesterday was a long, bad day of disappointing endeavors, from being unable to get the truck in the driveway up and running to crashing the computer. My evening ended with the blue screen of death. I had been meaning to back up for years! Just happened to do it that day while I was trying to install the software program, InDesign, for a class I was planning to take before the computer died. I guess I am out of the class.

So when I went to bed last night I must not have been sleeping too soundly because I heard the attack from the upstairs bedroom. I jumped out of sleep into a pair of moccasins. I grabbed a flashlight and ran butt naked out into the warm night.

Ah! I had forgotten to close doors to the coops. I checked the hen-house and sure enough one of my three older hens was gone.

I ran into the forest sprinting over fallen branches, whistling for my dog and calling out hoping to startle the predator into dropping its prey. Sometimes that will work if you can get on the scene early enough. But this time there was nothing. The night was silent except for the barking of a distant dog.

When I got back to the house I saw the feathers on the path where the predator and the hen must have struggled.

Chicken feathers on the path to the goat pens

Chicken feathers on the path to the goat pens

I checked the hutch where I am keeping six pullets and a young rooster and I had forgotten to close the door to that hutch also! Too depressed and angry with myself for forgetting to close the chickens up for the night, I could not bear to make a count to see who was missing.

Later that night I hear the chickens again. It sounded like another assault. But this time I did not get out of bed. I was too depressed and besides I had already closed up the coops. There was nothing more I could do but chew on my losses in the morning.

This morning I did not want to wake up. But I finally had to face the day and feed the livestock. As I stepped off the porch I was greeted by one of my older hens. Wait a minute. How did this one get out of the coop? When I opened the door the other two hens ran out.  I looked more closely at the first hen then I saw that she was missing her tail feathers.  She must have escaped from whatever had grabbed her.

When I went to fill up the water bowls, which I keep for the chickens and the deer, I saw the muddy water, which is a good sign of raccoons.

Muddy water in a bowl is a sign of raccoons.

Muddy water in a bowl is a sign of raccoons.

 

It must have been a raccoon that had grabbed her. While I was running naked through the forest a frustrated raccoon may have hiding in a tree above my head watching this crazy human go by.

The chickens at PsiKeep eatiing beneath a bronze sculpture titled "Bad Day in Scythia"

The chickens at PsiKeep eating beneath a bronze sculpture titled “Bad Day in Scythia”

Posted on August 18, 2014, in Psi Keep Center for the Arts, Uncategorized, Unforeseen Events, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very nice to find the lost. Even nicer not to loose them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

robertscribbler

Scribbling for environmental, social and economic justice

Maria Wind Talker

My Journey back to Self

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

swankaid

Inspiring Change in Assistive Design with Inclusive Accessibility for All

beeguardianmaine

share our passion for Honeybees

power animals talking

Inspirational books of animal messages

PsiKeep Venture

Creating an art center in the wilderness

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft For The 21st Century"

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Dragon Builder

Building Dragons at the PsiKeep Center for the Arts

Becoming is Superior to Being

I come closest to succeeding by sharing.

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Tara Hunt

senior digital marketing professional. researcher. author. speaker.

~*LunaSea*~

a life reading words

pavement stories

architecture, city-scapes & street life with a lo-fi touch

Just Another Impurity

Scribbles from a broken mind.

GrannyMoon's Morning Feast

GoddessSchool.com ~ Healing Arts and Pagan Studies

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

